Review: The Hundredth Queen


As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she’s an unlikely candidate for even a servant’s position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood’s mountain temple.
But a visit from the tyrant Rajah Tarek disrupts Kalinda’s life. Within hours, she is ripped from the comfort of her home, set on a desert trek, and ordered to fight for her place among the rajah’s ninety-nine wives and numerous courtesans. Her only solace comes in the company of her guard, the stoic but kind Captain Deven Naik.

Faced with the danger of a tournament to the death—and her growing affection for Deven—Kalinda has only one hope for escape, and it lies in an arcane, forbidden power buried within her.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Information:

Rating: 4/5 Stars
Source: Paperback (300 pages)
Expected publication: June 1st 2017 by Skyscape

 

__________________________________________________________________________________

Review:

Heart-pounding. Intriguing. Exciting. Stunning. Swoon-worthy. These are only some of the adjectives to describe this lovely book, The Hundredth Queen. If you don’t have this book on your TBR, you are totally losing out!

 reaction happy reactions excited super GIF

I enjoyed this book SO much. The main character, Kalinda is so fearless, strong and smart. I love following her along this story. The plot is super fun and suspenseful. Everything is mapped out so well. The romance is also just too sweet. The only thing I had trouble with, is that I found The Hundredth Queen a bit too similar to The Wrath and Dawn. But the great thing is, many aspects are different and The Hundredth Queen has its only special elements.

I also thoroughly enjoyed all the twists and turns and all the secrets that are revealed in the plot. I totally saw some of them coming, but some of them totally took me by surprise. I can’t wait for the sequel!

**********Huge thanks to Skyscape for sending me an advanced copy!***********

 

8 thoughts on “Review: The Hundredth Queen

  1. I’ll definitely have to check this book out further! Thanks for introducing it to me, and for an awesome review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed reading it!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

