Review: The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes

1910. Joanna Blalock’s keen mind and incredible insight lead her to become a highly-skilled nurse, one of the few professions that allow her to use her finely-tuned brain. But when she and her ten-year-old son witness a man fall to his death, apparently by suicide, they are visited by the elderly Dr. John Watson and his charming, handsome son, Dr. John Watson Jr. Impressed by her forensic and deductive skills, they invite her to become the third member of their deductive team.

Caught up in a Holmesian mystery that spans from hidden treasure to the Second Afghan War of 1878-1880, Joanna and her companions must devise an ingenious plan to catch a murderer in the act while dodging familiar culprits, Scotland Yard, and members of the British aristocracy. Unbeknownst to her, Joanna harbors a mystery of her own. The product of a one-time assignation between the now dead Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler, the only woman to ever outwit the famous detective, Joanna has unwittingly inherited her parents’ deductive genius.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Source: Hardcover (320 pages) provided by publisher

Expected publication: June 6th 2017 by Minotaur Books

Rating: 4/5 Stars

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Review:

When I first laid my eyes on The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes, I was more or less like…

 movies happy excited scream screaming GIF

The cover is so pretty & the synopsis totally drew me in. I knew I had to read this book! And boy, did I enjoy this little adventure!!

BBC sherlock bbc benedict cumberbatch sherlock holmes GIF

I really love the characters. Everything worked so well. I adore the idea of a romance between Watson’s son and Sherlock’s secret daughter. It’s so cute! Following this story is also super fun and enjoyable. I adore Joanna and how smart & clever she is. She reminds me so much of Sherlock! Fans of Watson and Sherlock should definitely check out this spin-off!

 

The Voice excited yes season 10 the voice GIF

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s