Review: Song of the Current


Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.

Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Author:  Sarah Tolcser

Published: June 6th 2017 by Bloomsbury Childrens Books

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Source: ARC provided by publisher

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Review:

I almost DNF this one. I started this one a few weeks ago and read like 70 pages but couldn’t get into it. It wasn’t boring but wasn’t all too engaging. But then, my friends started gushing about it, so I was like, “why not give this book another try?”. Boy, I am glad I continued because I adore this story!! The characters and magic is all super fun and awesome. I totally ship Caro and Tarquin. Their romance is so adorable!

 disney dancing despicable me agnes GIF

I adore Caro! She’s strong, feisty, sassy, energetic–and basically everything you could ever love about a character. I love how devoted and caring she is about the people she loves.

Beautiful Ginger

 

To sum it all up, although Song of the Current may have some slow points, it should still be on my TBR! After all, pirates, romance, magic, adventure—who can ask for more?!

 thumbs up GIF

Review: The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes

1910. Joanna Blalock’s keen mind and incredible insight lead her to become a highly-skilled nurse, one of the few professions that allow her to use her finely-tuned brain. But when she and her ten-year-old son witness a man fall to his death, apparently by suicide, they are visited by the elderly Dr. John Watson and his charming, handsome son, Dr. John Watson Jr. Impressed by her forensic and deductive skills, they invite her to become the third member of their deductive team.

Caught up in a Holmesian mystery that spans from hidden treasure to the Second Afghan War of 1878-1880, Joanna and her companions must devise an ingenious plan to catch a murderer in the act while dodging familiar culprits, Scotland Yard, and members of the British aristocracy. Unbeknownst to her, Joanna harbors a mystery of her own. The product of a one-time assignation between the now dead Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler, the only woman to ever outwit the famous detective, Joanna has unwittingly inherited her parents’ deductive genius.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Source: Hardcover (320 pages) provided by publisher

Expected publication: June 6th 2017 by Minotaur Books

Rating: 4/5 Stars

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Review:

When I first laid my eyes on The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes, I was more or less like…

 movies happy excited scream screaming GIF

The cover is so pretty & the synopsis totally drew me in. I knew I had to read this book! And boy, did I enjoy this little adventure!!

BBC sherlock bbc benedict cumberbatch sherlock holmes GIF

I really love the characters. Everything worked so well. I adore the idea of a romance between Watson’s son and Sherlock’s secret daughter. It’s so cute! Following this story is also super fun and enjoyable. I adore Joanna and how smart & clever she is. She reminds me so much of Sherlock! Fans of Watson and Sherlock should definitely check out this spin-off!

 

The Voice excited yes season 10 the voice GIF

 

Review: When Dimple Met Rishi 

 

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Published: May 30th 2017 by Simon Pulse

Rating: 5/5 stars

Source: ARC provided by publisher

_________________________________________________________________________________

Review:

Sweet. Adorable. Funny. Ahh it’t everything you can ever ask for!!! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and devoured it all in one setting.

 love it GIF

I love how nerdy Dimple and Rishi are. ITS SO CUTE!! They are literally perfect for one another. But my favorite character is probably Dimple. Not only is her name the cutest but she’s also super witty and feisty. She also creates some very hilarious scenes. I especially love the part when Dimple first meets Rishi…

I need more from Dimple and Rishi!! I sure hope their’s a sequel. Be sure to add When Dimple Met Rishi to your TBR if it’s not already on your list.