Review: Belle


Belle is convinced she has the wrong name, as she lacks her sisters’ awe-inspiring beauty. So she withdraws from society, devoting her time to wood carving. Secretly, Belle longs to find the fabled Heartwood Tree. If carved by the right hands, the Heartwood will reveal the face of one’s true love.

During a fierce storm, Belle’s father stumbles upon the mysterious Heartwood — and encounters a terrifying and lonely Beast. Now Belle must carve the Heartwood to save her father, and learn to see not with the eyes of her mind, but with the eyes of her heart.

______________________________________________________________

Information:
Source: (Paperback, 224 pages) provided by publisher
Published: November 25th 2008 by Simon Pulse
Rating: 3.5/5 stars
Author: Cameron Dokey
______________________________________________________________
Mini review:

I love Beauty and the Beast! The movie is coming out this month, and I can’t wait to watch it! When I found out about this retelling, I was so eager to get my hands on it! Huge thanks to Simon Pulse for giving me a copy free of charge. (Anything related to Beauty and the Beast, I need. Yes, I’m a bit obsessed ) Okay, to be honest, I read Robin McKinley’s retelling of Beauty and the Beast, so I was expecting a bit more from this retelling. Belle is a fun read but isn’t wholly original. Everything seems to remind me of McKinley’s “beauty”! It also took a long time for the Beast to be introduced. (What happened to “Beauty and the Beast?) But, nevertheless, I still enjoyed Belle. I love that the mother in Belle doesn’t die and that’s a nice twist i enjoyed. Also, I literally read the entire book in one setting and was absolutely hooked. I love that I was able to hold on till the end. I loved the first half of the book! 

6 thoughts on “Review: Belle

  1. I’ve read three Beauty and the Beast retellings recently! Yes, I count the book by written by Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont a retelling. I do have Robin McKinley’s retelling on my Nook.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

