Review: Ever The Hunted

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

________________________________________________________________

Source: Hardcover (392 pages) provided by publisher

Published December 27th 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers
Rating: 3.5/5 Stars
________________________________________________________________

When I first laid my eyes on the cover of Ever The Hunted, I was totally in love! Then, I read the summary, and I knew I need to get my greedy hands on this title.
This novel started out really well, but I couldn’t bring myself to fully love it. The beginning and end were great, but the middle section was a bit too long and draggy. The travel was just WAY to long. Also, the romance was extremely frustrating!
However, I did like some aspects of the book! I LOVE Enat’s personality! She’s a stubborn old lady who is just so lovable! She totally made me laugh! The main character, Britta, is also a very great character to follow. In addition, I really enjoyed the ending. I finally get to see some more action. Yahh! But, just to warm you, there’s a cliffhanger! In the end,I’m pretty satisfied, the ending made up for all the things I disliked. I will definitely read the sequel!

______________________________________________________________

 

Get to know the author:

With a B.A. in English, Erin Summerill had aspirations to write the next great American novel. But writing proved tougher than she first thought, so she grabbed a Nikon and became a professional wedding photographer. When she isn’t writing, she’s chasing her four kids, two dogs, one cat, and five chickens. Erin and her family live in Utah.

______________________________________________________________

Buy links:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Target

Walmart

3 thoughts on “Review: Ever The Hunted

  1. Nice review! I’ve been anticipating this book’s release for a while, but still haven’t had a chance to get to it now that it’s been released. Hopefully I can get to it soon, though. Sorry to hear the romance was frustrating!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

